Microfiction: No turning back

Three more lines to add to yesterday’s three line tale, Gone.

Across the night time fields they floated, following the half-seen friend who turned and smiled through pale lips when they looked back longingly at the lighted window.

Go home, the fox called, but the children didn’t hear, and the wind’s laughter carried the warning into the dusk, carried them closer to the lakeside.

The hand, so light, so pale tugged at the elder child’s arm when she hung back, and, reluctantly now, but knowing it was too late to go back, the pair of them followed the friend into the misty, cold, rippling waters of the bottomless lake.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

17 thoughts on “Microfiction: No turning back”

      1. I couldn’t agree more! I remember children having that effect on me as a child reader, but not again until I had children of my own. It’s amazing how differently you see the world when you can see it through the eyes of your own children. Chilling!

      2. Like this thing with clowns. I don’t see the point about clowns. Children are so much more interesting in the way they behave and their secret depths than a man with paint on his face.

Leave a Reply

