From there to here

For the Secret Keeper’s challenge, a cascade poem using the words:

BLOOD | PRESENT | PROGRESS | SEARCH | FACE

Photo ©John O’Kane

binderg_-_geograph-org-uk_-_307384

The steady march from there to here,

I feel it in the blood’s deep pulse,

The search for who I used to be.

 

Across the ocean’s changing face,

A people sail in hope of peace,

The steady march from there to here.

 

The kith and kin from rugged hills,

And wind-swept coasts where famine grew,

I feel it in the blood’s deep pulse.

 

Bone shaped from earth and hill and stone,

They whisper tales to guide steps home,

The search for who I used to be.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

10 thoughts on “From there to here”

  1. Loved the flow and tumble of your cascade poem, Jane. “The search for who I use to be” triggered whispered tales of my parents’ arduous journey to a new country after WWII. Beautifully written. ❤

Leave a Reply

