Haiku challenge: Car & Coast

Sorry, Ronovan, but I can’t do ‘car’. Cars just don’t seem to suit my idea of haiku at all. So I’ve taken a few liberties this week, bent the definitions a bit. For haikus along this theme, please take a look here.

 

No road breaks the peace

coast frilled in gentle white foam

sea green petticoat.

 

Shore sings with gull voice

raucous laughter skimming waves

leaving us behind.

 

On the shore, a boat

above the tideline, waiting

for sailors like us.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

15 thoughts on “Haiku challenge: Car & Coast”

  1. I don’t care what the prompt words were, these haiku are lovely and well done. (And more gulls! ) 🙂 I like the images in the first one–the white frills and sea-green petticoat, but I think I like the last one the best.

Leave a Reply

