Winter roses

I keep forgetting about this lovely challenge. This tanka, inspired by the words ‘late’ and ‘bloom’ is for Colleen Chesebro. Pop over to her blog and read a few more.

1024px-aspirin-rose_tantau_1997

Snow on the roses,

last blooms vie in pure whiteness

with winter beauty;

memories of summer sun,

petals blush in my cold hand.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

31 thoughts on “Winter roses”

    1. Thanks Merril 🙂 I haven’t worked out why notifications from some blogs I follow only go to the reader and others go to my email inbox. Since the inbox has so many notifications to look at I hardly ever go to the reader.

      1. Oh, I actually like that name. It’s got such strength to it – pale, unassuming, but with an acidity to it that enhances it power. A rose named this has some leanings toward magic, I might think…

      2. I’m not a fan of commercial roses either. They don’t seem real, and as a general rule they have no scent. Sunflowers are a cash crop down here so they have lost a lot of their attraction for me. When you’re surrounded by whole fields full of them, there’s not much incentive to grow them in your own garden. After old-fashioned roses I love foxgloves and ipomea, nasturtiums and monbretia. Cottage garden plants.

Leave a Reply

