As the morning star was waking

A ballad style poem based on threes—three stanzas of three lines each with three times three syllables to the line.

lothar_von_seebach_portrait_deugenie

I took the path down to the water,

Along the bank where kingcups cluster,

To say goodbye to my young daughter.

 

She took the boat at dawn’s first breaking

To cross the sea where life is softer,

Just as the morning star was waking.

 

I could not bear to see her leaving,

A smile to keep, my last gift to her,

Only the lake will see my grieving.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

18 thoughts on “As the morning star was waking”

      1. I thought I’d never want to see mine go, but only the eldest has really gone, and she’s only a ten minute walk away. The others are still here, and only the youngest has any real reason to be. I wish they’d move out and learn to look after themselves.

Leave a Reply

