Triolet: Petals in the mud

For the Secret Keeper’s writing challenge. I haven’t used the exact words of the prompt, but the spirit is there.

FLASH | USE | TRIGGER | VIEW | BACK

Photo©Katja Schulz

1024px-yellow_flowers_on_pipeline_road_-_flickr_-_treegrow

The sight of petals in the mud

Recalls those times we used to walk

And hear our hearts pulse in the blood.

The sight of petals in the mud,

A moment spent beside the flood,

We dropped them like our idle talk.

The sight of petals in the mud

Recalls those times. We used to walk.

 

 

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

10 thoughts on “Triolet: Petals in the mud”

  1. Can’t tell you how much I love these, Jane. The circularity does something gorgeous to my brain. I love that it comes down to punctuation in the last line. I feel like I’m ruining it by even talking about it so I’m going to shut up now.

  2. “We dropped them like our idle talk’
    Good grief Jane you are so CLEVER as well as a natural writer. It isn’t just the ability as you profess, and it isn’t just the talent, it’s that rare mix of BOTH and you possess that. This was quite gorgeous and the circularity you are so adept at, worked like a song in my head as I read it. Exquisite.

Leave a Reply

