Microfiction: Choices

A 100 word short story for the Friday Fictioneers inspired by this photo © Dale Rogerson.

dale-rogerson2

“Each of the archways leads to a different…adventure.”

“Adventure?”

“Giant spiders, trolls or maybe a tropical paradise.”

“How can I tell before I open the door?”

“You can’t.” He grinned. “That’s the fun of it.”

“And if I go straight ahead?”

He shrugged. “That takes some of the drama out of the game. We know it’s the Minotaur.”

“I could deal with a Minotaur. It’s a just a deformed guy with a cow’s head.”

“An eight feet tall psychopathic hulk with horns?”

“And if I say I’m staying here?”

He pulled out a gun and pointed it at my head.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

47 thoughts on “Microfiction: Choices”

    1. What this reminded me of immediately was a very old Dr Who series set on the Daleks’ planet and I found the idea of these metal doors sliding shut behind them, trapping the Dr and his assistant whichever corridor they tried was absolutely terrifying. I obviously still don’t like it much 🙂

      1. Oh yes. If you read some of my comments to others, it’s one of my trademarks. If it gave me a good feeling or something, or impressed me, I give it five out of five something-or-others. Usually it’s when it makes me laugh, but I do it for serious pieces, too. Some of the commenters have tossed it back to me at times to get in on the fun.

      2. Well, as far as doing better, remember that content can be reposted because we get new people a lot around here. I do it all the time. I even spend time re-writing my old posts to give it a better shot.

      3. If I remembered correctly, to cure nightmares, Medusa’s head had to be cut off. Or do you cut off the head of the Minotaur? Anyway, you get the idea. Hopefully …! 😀

      1. Very, very true. Part of me feels like giving up the flash and trying to concentrate on all the novel ideas I have. But as I’ve said before, that flash is a hard habit to break …

  1. Ah one goes nowhere by standing still… so she needed a nudge to move… who knows what lies around the corner? Hope it is the beginning of many adventures for her!

  2. Great story. I hope the archway she chooses leads down a flowered path to Paradise. If I had to choose between a gun and something ominous, I’d probably choose the gun to my head.

Leave a Reply

