Shadows over the sun

franz_marc_-_die_wo%cc%88lfe_balkankrieg_1913

Shadows over the sun

fill the world with deep dark,

holding back the gold,

growing cold shade

where light once was.

 

Cold swells

and cracks with frost

the tumbled stones,

and in bare black branches

a bird chirps,

frozen his song

in the winter night.

 

Time is broken

and nothing holds the falcon,

turning in the sky.

Marching feet stir the ashes,

drum away

the last dusty moments.

 

At the last,

in the dry wind

blew not ash but feathers,

and beating white wings

carried the heart of the world,

through the gathering dark,

to the isle of apples,

and peace.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

8 thoughts on “Shadows over the sun”

  1. Reading this for a third time I tried to pick out a line or two that endeared me the most, and found I could not, because this is to be spoken to the heart, and paint the walls with stories and life, it stands alone without need to dissect, you have that way about you, I don’t think you see it as others see it in you, and maybe this is for the best, but good grief your poems leave me dazzled.

Leave a Reply

