The tide is rising

The Fillon controversy or Penelope Gate is getting juicier and juicier. It brings out my Potemkin spirit, my inner Sans-culottes, and I’m behind the Boys of Wexford all the way. You get the drift. We can dream, can’t we.

Cold trees are bare beneath the paltry sun,

And the east wind batters ancient sedge,

Parchment thin, breaking the back of crone grass.

Carrion crow casts a cold eye on muddy banks,

For the tide is rising.

Gulls, buffeted, dip and rise,

Seeking purchase on ragged waves,

Where broken branches spin and roll.

The tide is rising.

Poor and poorer beaten down beneath the paltry sun,

Wind whipping through thin clothes and bowing ancient backs,

Cast a cold eye on privilege and clench their fists;

The tide is rising.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

5 thoughts on “The tide is rising”

  1. Thanks for the link. I wasn’t aware of Penelope-Gate. You have a rising tide; we have rising swamp monsters. Let’s hope the tide rises enough to send them all out to sea–perhaps their own desert island. I picture Lord of the Flies.

Leave a Reply

