Microfiction challenge: Looking for pebbles

I did sort of half-promise Michael (of Morpeth Road) that I’d post another oddity to inspire some more weird and wonderful stories. This one, by Frederick Leighton isn’t as exotic as last week’s giant rodent, but it’s a painting that I find lovely in its strangeness. See what you think. Can you get a story out of this painting entitled Greek girls picking up pebbles?

1024px-frederic-lord-leighton-greek-girls-picking-up-pebbles-by-the-sea-1871

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

37 thoughts on “Microfiction challenge: Looking for pebbles”

    1. Hi Craig. There are no rules. I used to run a regular microfiction challenge with a few rules, a painting prompt and a few thoughts on the painting to give ideas, but I found I didn’t have the time to do the entries justice. Last week I found a really extraordinary image and posted it just for a giggle. People wrote stories based on it, so I’ve decided I’ll post a strange painting every week and invite flash fiction based on it. You write whatever the painting inspires. A poem if you’d prefer. A springboard to creativity is a pompous way of putting it.

Leave a Reply

