Rogue dog

Today’s dVerse challenge is to mess around with a colourful collection of drinking words and make a poem, of no more than 33 words, not about drinking. This is what I came up with.

Painting by Iris Scott Photo©Jemini26

1024px-canis_major_by_iris_scott

Hair of the dog,

hackles raised,

drenched in sour spray,

he chases round and back

upon the rocks,

hammered by wolf waves.

He twists as shots ring out,

shards splintering,

drowning in sorrows.

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

54 thoughts on “Rogue dog”

  1. I once said I love to run with the dog poets at dVerse. You certainly wrestled my mind back into the poetic pack mentality while awfully rocking the prompt.

  2. I had not heard the phrase “hair of the dog” as a drinking term before, but it seems to fit the picture. It sounds to me like the dog was shot in the last three lines or maybe being chased away, but maybe I misunderstood.

    1. No, that’s what I intended, hence the title, Rogue dog. The full expression is ‘take a hair of the dog that bit you’ meaning have another drink of whatever gave you the hangover in the first place.

Leave a Reply

