Tanka: Angel & Devil

For Colleen Chesebro’s Tanka Tuesday. I’ve used the general idea of angel and devil, since I don’t believe in either of them. I hope this comes across.

Photo©Ruloco

768px-blizzard_2007_009

Soft as white feathers,

snow falls, a downy blanket,

the world, crystal bright.

Beneath the snow, fracking scars,

like crows, waiting for the thaw.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

22 thoughts on “Tanka: Angel & Devil”

    1. Thanks Lynn. I’m feeling thoroughly depressed this morning. Just discovered that our self-serving former minister of the environment, Ségolène Royal has just given permission to the hunters to continue their slaughter of the returning geese for another ten days. We already have the longest open season in Europe and she’s arse-licking to the blood-thirsty savages because her constituency is full of them. Shameful.

      1. And they wonder why most of us have lost faith in politicians … Poor old geese. I don’t understand bloodsports or why anyone wants to kill something for fun. For food, yes (even though I’m vegetarian, I get that) but for fun?

      2. It’s a very odd way to spend your spare time, especially these days when most of us are so distanced from the bloody reality of nature. Shame they haven’t invented a virutal reality version of game hunting, eh?

    1. She’s a coward. I know lots of people think hunting is a wonderful, ‘necessary’ activity, but shooting hungry, tired geese on their way to their nesting grounds is not what I expect of a mother of four children. She should be ashamed of herself.

      1. I have yet to *meet* anyone who admits to advocating any of your president’s ideas, but the fact is that scores of millions of people do. Is that because writers and creative people are that much more ‘normal’ and ‘human’ than the rest of them?

Leave a Reply

