Along the misty river

It’s open night at the dVerse pub, so anything goes. The photo is one I took this morning. The poem, a triolet is inspired by it.

mistyriver

Along the misty river fly

The ghosts of gulls with strident calls,

And I can barely see the sky.

Along the misty river fly

Shades of the lost, I hear them cry.

They search the banks as twilight falls

Along the misty river. Fly,

The ghosts of gulls with strident calls.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

50 thoughts on “Along the misty river”

    1. Thanks Michael. In French black-headed gulls are called laughing gulls, because they do sound as though they’re laughing. Sometimes it’s a chuckle, sometimes it’s hysterical. I love them.

      1. Wow I didn’t know that. We have gulls here who make the same monotonous sound. But we have a bird called a kookaburra and of a morning he laughs his head off..

    1. Thanks Grace. Getting the slight shift of meaning is always the hardest part of writing a triolet, I find. I enjoy prompts, enjoy writing, and it gives me a legitimate occupation rather than querying agents and doing promotion which I hate.

Leave a Reply

