Dreams of shadows

It’s Saturday so I like to dabble in the world of fridge magnets. I’m not sure what to make of today’s messages from the oracle.

 

Black beneath the skin,screen-shot-2017-02-11-at-12-33-32

diamond gods above,

recalls a dream of shadows,

our bitter juices raining

into a stormy sea

of water, red as blood.

 

 

Watching moonlight,screen-shot-2017-02-11-at-15-06-28

the ship of sleep has fled

through misty water.

No dreams whisper, petal smooth

in the wind.

I wait in the shadows

for the sun.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

28 thoughts on “Dreams of shadows”

  1. The Oracle sounds angry in the first, but more reflective in the second one. I also like “ship of sleep.
    It’s Sunday afternoon now, so I hope your Saturday was more of the second than the first. You and Chris Jensen had fun. 🙂

    1. These two messages were really poems, I felt, and persevered until I got the few words the magnets didn’t want to provide. It’s been a mixed day actually. The day itself has been calm and peaceful but there’s been an irritable wind all day that has made Finbar nervous. We’ve been visiting our eldest who’s just moved into her first apartment with her young man. They seem very happy, the apartment is attractive, in the oldest part of the city so we’re pleased for them.

Leave a Reply

