I had a heart and gave it you

For dVerse, the theme is ‘heart’, the form is a minute poem, though I think I’ve added an extra stanza.

708px-ronai-woman_with_a_bird

I had a heart and gave it you:

In gold and blue,

I painted love,

In skies above.

 

You took it, put it in a cage,

Not in a rage:

Its song was sweet,

Its life was fleet.

 

You crushed my wings behind the bars:

No moon, no stars

Could comfort me

Nor set me free.

 

You took my heart, a little thing:

You made it sing,

Until the day

It flew away.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

32 thoughts on “I had a heart and gave it you”

  1. This so eloquently describes how love can sometimes go, when one tries to cage a heart. Sometimes we even cage our own. It is the most freeing feeling to realize that we are love, itself. I’m hopeful this person is free to fly!

Leave a Reply

