Sleep

A variation on the dVerse ghost cat theme that isn’t a Quadrille.

brannw2

I see you on the roof at night,

When moonlight silvers smooth red tiles

And hear your cry, so distant now.

A slender shadow in the grass,

You sniff the rose we planted, where

We laid you in the cold, cold ground

And watered it with warmest tears.

Soon, I tell your phantom shade,

We all will fallen petals be.

Sleep, ghost cat, songbirds are calling,

Sleep in rose-sweet petals falling.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

10 thoughts on “Sleep”

Leave a Reply

