The sky was blue today

Continuing dVerse’s Expressionist theme, the painting is by August Macke. Like his friend and fellow Der blaue Reiter painter Franz Marc, Macke was killed in the First World War.

1024px-august_macke_-_hussars_on_a_sortie_1913

The winter sky was blue today,

as blue as a precious stone,

rolled by the waves of the sea

and tossed on a silver strand.

 

The stones were red today,

as red as a poppy in bloom,

and they glared in anger as I tiptoed by,

in their glow an anthem raged.

 

The poppies were gone today,

withered and grey as ash,

and the silver strand was dull as lead,

and the clouds wept pewter drops.

 

The ash blew in the wind today,

and the wind was all there was,

for the clouds and poppies, the leaden tears

had all been washed away.

 

A haze lies on the world today,

the heat of the dull red glow

in the hearts of stone and the marching songs

that echo where dead men go.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

7 thoughts on “The sky was blue today”

    1. I didn’t intend it that way, but you’re right, Bernadette, that’s how it turned out. Certainly both Macke and Marc saw the inevitable war that was brewing and possibly imagined they wouldn’t be there to see the end.

  1. I imagine this as something that one of the WWI poets would write, but also as a song like “Where Have All the Flowers Gone.” I’m not explaining it very well–I just had both things go through my head when I read it.

    1. I know exactly what you mean. It might be because I had just written the piece for Sue Vincent’s photo prompt and the first war was still in my mind. The thought of war is never far away at the best of times;

      1. I’m glad you understood my jumbled comment. 🙂 Yes, I think where you live, the thought of war is never far away. Here, it is becoming a scary thought of something that could happen easily with twitter thumbs in charge.

      2. War is thankfully beyond our frontiers, but we see the refugees everywhere and feel that the horror is very close. With people like you know who in charge, we could all be dragged into it.

Leave a Reply

