Haibun:Best things

Another haibun for the dVerse poetry prompt

Photo©Takashi Hososhima

681px-day_4-_stars_-2_8431511862

Everything has a price. The favour accepted creates a debt, cheap clothes means cheap labour, cheap meat untold suffering, the holiday paradise a hell of despair for displaced fishermen. To touch and taste and possess without thought for the why and the how is to take reality and bend it through a prism of comfort. Real is hard and harsh and life has to be bought with sweat or love. Give love and expect no return. Give love, like dogs give, and reap a harvest of beauty.

 

Starlight through the trees

where ruffle-feathered birds roost

tucked in night’s blanket.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

22 thoughts on “Haibun:Best things”

      1. Yes, I do the same thing, and gets me nowhere. Trying to remember that, and focus on the things that I have decided matter to me, and do them well as I can. Not always succeeding…

Leave a Reply

