The wind is rising

There’s an open link night at the dverse pub so I’ll post this poem I wrote in my head while walking with the dog this morning.

1024px-gustav_klimt_022

The wind is rising, friend, I hear

Night shadows whisper in my ear,

Dark voices murmur, drawing near.

 

Friend, the wind is rising and

I hear it sighing โ€™cross the land:

The time of reckoningโ€™s at hand.

 

I hear the wind is rising, friend,

It cries, no time left to pretend,

Sun sets, stars fall, this is the end.

 

So with the wind, friend, rise with me,

And on its back ride to the sea,

Where lovers, gulls and dreams fly free.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

54 thoughts on “The wind is rising”

      1. I can’t imagine it. Even a bit of wind, our measly 130 kms an hour wind makes me jittery, closing shutters, hiding under the covers. A tornado! 200 houses destroyed! Awful.

  1. Maybe, it’s my dark view on life, but I hear echoes of what happening, in the United States and Europe, in this poem, Jane. The only thing missing, is the tears of the innocent, stain my computer, as I read this.

    1. That is behind my thoughts all the time. People aren’t any worse, the world isn’t any wickeder, but it seems as though the world’s ‘leaders’ have so much more power to do evil right at their fingertips.

  2. Oh this is lovely!โค๏ธ Especially “So with the wind, friend, rise with me, and on its back ride to the sea, where lovers, gulls and dreams fly free” puts a huge smile on my face ๐Ÿ˜€ xo

Leave a Reply

