Beyond the bright day

A triolet composed while dog-walking. I have to see this form written down though to decide if it works.

hermann_osthoff_hahnenbalz_1909

 

Beyond the bright day where waits night,

In dark-feathered oceans of sleep,

Silent-winged hunters take flight.

Beyond the bright day where waits night,

To seize the hem of fading light,

Screech owl swoops. So bury dreams deep,

Beyond the bright day where waits night,

In dark-feathered oceans of sleep.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

12 thoughts on “Beyond the bright day”

  1. Great piece here Jane – I think it works 🙂

    But I have to say, I was scanning for my posts in the reader, and when I saw your intro – I accidentally read: A “toilet” composed while dog-walking. … which even as I write this, has me laughing – blink of an eye and my mind was like: what is she writing about??

    Glad to say that I much enjoyed the actual content here, as you wrote it. 🙂

    1. Ha ha! The number of times I’ve misread words like that. Comes from having a potty brain I suppose. Glad you got over the giggles enough to actually read it, though I’d have jumped on a piece that was entitled ‘Toilet composed while dog-walking’ 🙂

      1. ahem …. well I didn’t want to mention that if the words had been as I read them, I’d have been on the post faster than er …. well … right, sh*ite to a piece of toilet paper 😉

        ahem … but you caught me 😉

        LOL

Leave a Reply

