A request to Brigid

wladyslaw_roguski_diana_na_lowach_1930

Dig through the piled grey clouds,

and shed gold where lies soot-dark shade,

dig deep where roots tangle and a world squirms,

flinching from the light.

Blow through supple apple boughs

with the gusting breath of a spring gale,

and coax with zephyr fingers

the white, pink-blushed blossom

of the apple trees.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

11 thoughts on “A request to Brigid”

  1. I wish she would show up here …. but it’s not happening …. and won’t …. this winter seems endless ….

      1. LOL – well, it’s just a non-typical but typical Canadian winter …. and I’m in Quebec, so it’s just been meh …. warm, cold, snow, freezing, brutally cold, warm, thaw, rain, freezing rain, snow snow snow …. and it just keeps repeating …. and well, it’s not been too bad, honestly, there are places east and west that have suffered far worse, but Spring and green would be a dream …. mislaid for now …..

      2. I’m used to the weather, being Canadian and all …. but sometimes, I just wish it would stop being so damn flip floppy …. it’s been far too inconsistent …. anyhow …. well, languages are languages … it’s the accents really and local expressions – I mean, travel about 6 hours north of Montreal and it’s like you’ve landed somewhere else! But generally, the gist is the same. 😉

        Personally, this is “the winter of my discontent” … so I will now take my leave and wander off to the needs must …. have a great rest of the afternoon Jane …. hope the “gruesome in the editing” doesn’t drive you mad 😉

Leave a Reply

