Light

The last dverse prompt I used was to create a poem using the same techniques as the Impressionist painters. I had another think about the idea and wrote this.

Phillip-Leslie-Hale-Poppies

Light is all,

light and its shadow,

sun and moon and the good green earth.

This gesture, that posture,

esquisseβ€”

her hand, his mouth, a blowing poppy,

languid or lascivious,

through a prism of rainbows.

Paint the words in the scent of roses,

and breathe it in the waters of reflected stars.

Touch me with the pastel shades of morning,

bathe me in the fiery clouds of dusk.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

14 thoughts on “Light”

    1. Thanks so much, John! We were away for the weekend very much out of the way of every distraction except natural ones, and it was easier to think about the idea behind the prompt.

  1. I think you got to the very essence of Impressionism, Jane–light, nature, the senses.
    I really like: “Paint the words in the scent of roses,
    and breathe it in the waters of reflected stars.”

Leave a Reply

