Robin’s song not done

Continuing my masochistic exploration of poetic forms, I have written a cascade poem using rhyme as well as meter. Makes it more difficult and makes me feel chuffed when it’s finished.

This continues the dVerse ‘river’ theme.

Bad weather2

River flows chill where the celandines throng,

Mid flood debris on its way down to the sea,

Robin’s not done with his sweet winter song.

 

Tresses of green-grey, the current pulls strong,

The cry of the gulls sounds like laughter to me,

River flows chill where the celandines throng.

 

I toss out my hopes, sail to where you may be,

Garlands of dreams float, I set them all free,

Mid flood debris on its way down to the sea.

 

On gold tangled banks this is where I belong

Though your face like love fades and false hopes flee,

Robin’s not done with his sweet winter song.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

31 thoughts on “Robin’s song not done”

  1. You’re fighting the good fight, Jane. Eventually all your masochism will give you more than, ummm…pleasure; it will give you deep poetic intuition. Love the piece. ❤

  2. I admire your masochism. I admire this poem as it turns out but what I mean is I admire the fact that you explore and write within various disciplines – I’m a freeform bird which is probably a euphemism for lazy so I shall just read and admire 🦅

    1. I think it’s because I find it hard to be ‘lyrical’ if there isn’t a rhythm. Doesn’t have to rhyme, but I do like a good rhyme. It’s harder to get a free form poem to leave an impression because there isn’t a structure to aid memory. Like the poems we learnt at school—they all have a strict meter because it’s easier to remember. The brain is ultimately lazy 🙂

      1. This is why I am no poet, presumably – can’t be bothered with the rhyming though in my defence the children were brought up on me reciting poems made up as I went along in the car or alternatively substituting appropriate lyrics onto an existing tune. They loved it and then they hated it. So I stopped.

      2. Some people think that rhyme is anathema, so don’t take me as your yard stick.
        Funny that, how children switch from being enthralled to acutely embarrassed by mother’s singing.

  3. Nice sound to this. I liked the line about setting the garland of one’s dreams free and I assume that garland contains all one’s dreams. I suppose this is what one has to do for those dreams to be realized, but it is not easy.

Leave a Reply

