Can you hear voices in the wind tonight?

Over the weekend when we were away without internet, I wrote a lot of poetry. This is a(nother) villanelle that attempts to capture the atmosphere of those nights. For the dVerse open night.

924px-Johan_Christian_Claussen_Dahl_-_En_sky_og_landskap_studie_av_måneskinn

Can you hear voices in the wind tonight?

Listen to the scratching at the window—

In the velvet darkness the stars shine bright.

 

Beneath the roses in the pale moonlight,

Someone is singing a song sweet and low.

Can you hear voices in the wind tonight?

 

The touch of the night breeze is pure delight,

The moon silvers fox in the field below,

In the velvet darkness the stars shine bright.

 

You listen to the wind with eyes closed tight,

Stop your ears, bolt the door against the foe.

Can you hear voices in the wind tonight?

 

You never saw the owl, her silent flight,

Or heard fairy music ripple river-slow,

Though in the velvet darkness stars shine bright.

 

From hunters in starshine, you turn in fright,

You won’t take the path where the good folk go.

Can you hear voices in the wind tonight,

When in the velvet darkness stars shine bright?

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

57 thoughts on “Can you hear voices in the wind tonight?”

  1. Exquisitely rich and love this poem.

    When it gets windy here in L.A. I do feel the sense that the winds are whispering in my ear and the coldness brings this season all the more while.

    Say, Jane…I didn’t realize you blog on dVerse too. Awesome!

    I posted a link as well. I’m #27 I think. 🙂 Hope to see you on my poem. 🙂

  2. Hauntingly beautiful. It’s so hard to find areas free of light and noise pollution where one can simply enjoy the beauty of the night sky and listen to the choices in the wind.

  3. I liked these lines: “You never saw the owl, her silent flight,

    Or heard fairy music ripple river-slow,”

    Although I don’t expect to hear that fairy music somehow I believe that owl is out there that I’ve never seen.

Leave a Reply

