Spring struggles

blossom

Spring struggles on the quickening bough,

The tender blossom’s falling now,

Pushed by uncurling leaves.

And you, my life’s brilliant dreams,

That grew at night when moonlight streams,

What brash new vision breathes,

Supplanting with glossy mirror tricks,

Your luscious rose-scented fabrics?

Whatever; my heart grieves.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

23 thoughts on “Spring struggles”

  1. I loved the blossom trees
    Would climb up amongst their lovely leaves
    And sit on high
    To touch the sky
    But my father cut down the boughs
    And so destroyed my little safe house

    Or something like that, Larkin, This Be The Verse, etc

      1. I can’t remember much about his poems, just that he read them in the most boring, flat voice imaginable. He was certainly there in the 80s but I don’t know if he died in harness.

      2. Born in the US (accident of birth, my mum eloped)of Irish parents emigrated to Yorkshire, moved back to Yorkshire just after I was born, to Birstall, went to school in Leeds uni at Manchester. Small world 🙂

      3. Birstall. World gets smaller. I worked on the Batley News. Big Irish community. My mum worked in Batley Carr before I was born with loads of Irish. By the time I started work, the immigrants were Asian. But the Irish were still there, ter be sure.

      4. There weren’t any Asians in Birstall when I left (82) but loads in Batley and Dewsbury. It always seemed to me that the world was half Irish.
        You worked on the Batley News? The grandparents used to buy it in preference to the Birstall News that was referred to as The Birstall Fibber. Don’t know why.

      5. Same newspaper. Just that one reporter had the Birstall run. We all had districts. I had Heckmondwike for a while. Dire. Batley Carr and Staincliffe were easier. You are right, not many Asians in Birstall than, but there were some, as I recall.

      6. I don’t remember them. Later, I remember my mum talking about trying to encourage them to bring their wives to the meetings. She was a Labour Party worker and though the men would be all for workers rights, they just laughed when it was suggested that maybe Mrs Patel ought to be taken out of her box once in a while.

      7. I think the local authorities took completely the wrong tack with them. The Labour Party men obviously didn’t mind at all that there were no women showed up to meetings, but the female workers did and were certainly not in favour of the policy to let them get on with their own thing, it’s their right to keep their own customs blah blah blah. Woolly wrong-headed liberalism.

Leave a Reply

