Fire-born

It was a real struggle to get that first magnet poem. The words I wanted just weren’t there, as if the oracle had other ideas. It was such a struggle I gave it another go, and she banged this one out with no hesitation.

 

Heart of marble,Screen Shot 2017-03-25 at 18.34.34

fire-born,

red as fever,

dark as sacred magic,

wild star,

smoke in its wake,

dances over the skyβ€”

night

morning

universe

eternity.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

22 thoughts on “Fire-born”

      1. It does, but since I’ve let this daft idea take hold, that the words are a ‘message’ because they’re random and not of my choosing, it’s hard to square that with trying to be imaginative.

      2. The concept of using fridge magnets to write poems is confused, since you can only use the words that are given, and can’t ‘write’ the poem you think you’d like to write. Makes you bend your imagination to fit in the available words, I suppose.

      3. But isn’t the poem you’d like to write? I did use to limit young people with words and lines in creative sessions, but that’s about discipline not about frustration – a lot of kids like to play with rules.

      4. I don’t know. Certainly, rules when they’re about metre and rhyme I’m happy to look on as discipline that can produce lovely poetry. Having words rationed I suppose is the same thing. I find it harder to deal with though.

    1. It was really strange. I tried to write the poem I wanted and she wouldn’t let me. Took ages, picking letters out of words here and there. This was the poem she wanted πŸ™‚

      1. Yes, it is a strange dynamic, because sometimes you see something that gives you an idea, but then you can’t quite make it work. Then other times, the words appear and practically write themselves into a poem.

Leave a Reply

