A hare I’ll be

For the Secret Keeper’s writing prompt, a villanelle using the words:

CAUSE | HATE | CHANGE | LINE | PACE

I have been a bit free and easy with the use of synonyms and the relationship is a bit tenuous for ’cause’, but close enough, I think.

1024px-Bruno_Liljefors_-_Winter_Hare

 

In cloistered shade hate grows apace,

I take me to a sunny bank,

A hare I’ll be so full of grace.

In sunlight with the mayflies race,

I shun the cold and damp walls dank,

In cloistered shade hate grows apace.

With salmon swim and perch and dace,

In water bright, or on hill’s flank

A hare I’ll be, so full of grace.

I’ll run the line from dark disgrace,

Through open fields, eyes wide and frank,

In cloistered shade hate grows apace.

When clouds change from grey wool to lace,

And twilight pinks the grasses lank,

A hare I’ll be so full of grace.

On this wide earth, I’ll leave a trace,

When waters cloud with choke weeds rank,

And in the shade hate grows apace,

A hare I’ll be, so full of grace.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

17 thoughts on “A hare I’ll be”

  1. When my foster son died by his own hand, a hare with white ears (he was almost albino blonde) appeared in the field behind us. It would stand and stare at the house, not flinch if we stepped over the style from garden to field. It stayed for months. Matthew knew I loved hares.

      1. Thank you so much. It is immensely kind of you to take the time to reach out so sweetly. It will be 11 years in October … one doesn’t heal, just finds a place that it mostly rests quietly. I will take some time to read your blog at the weekend (rain forecast) …. I try to do this for all new followers each week. I have a feeling from your comment and from whence you have found me that I will be following you too! I wish you a peaceful and delightful day 😊

Leave a Reply

