Red Balloon

There will always be only one balloon for me, a red one, from the film; Le Ballon Rouge.

Here are two quadrilles for the dverse prompt. The subject is, of course, balloon.

 

Lonely child dreams

of fat trout streams

and wild moonbeams.

In his hand, the string

tight holds, stars sing,

in the night sky ring

the songs of spring.

Balloon pulls high,

with birds into the sky,

he laughs, he can fly,

will never die.

 

 

21013892_20130619165142043

Clutch the string tight,

like the moon in the night,

balloon in its flight,

absorbs the pale light,

red glow turns white.

 

Cast wide your dreams,

let flow the sunbeams,

that fall in bright streams,

burst at the seams,

with life the earth teams.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

72 thoughts on “Red Balloon”

  1. It’s so long since I saw that film! Must track it down again. Those short lines and lovely rhymes create the sense of a nursery rhyme or a child’s song. It works well with the subject.

  2. How I love that film. I saw it first sitting cross legged on the wooden floor of the main hall all of us transfixed. It started my love affair with French films which endures to this day, is the most magical and delightful movie imaginable and you, as I would expect pay beautiful homage to it’s enduring delight

    1. It’s one of my favourite films of all. Makes me truly nostalgic for a Paris I never saw, with gendarmes and trolley buses, and even the miserable conditions of apartment-living in post war poverty. Glad you liked the verse 🙂

Leave a Reply

