In the eye of the beholder

The dverse theme is irony. Here is a cascade poem attempting to be ironical.

Backlit_Pink_Rose_Interior_With_Drops_(209284324)

Such grace, we see in the flight of the swan,

Such beauty we hear in blackbird’s first song,

And perfect the blush and perfume of the rose.

 

The fishermen curse the otter’s sleek course,

Dead owls hang to show who has sole right to hunt,

Such grace we see in the flight of the swan.

 

Hounds quench the flame of red fox in their jaws,

Guns tear gentle doves from the blue of the sky,

Such beauty we hear in blackbird’s first song.

 

And we send ships to mars, follow comets in flight,

Spread all of earth’s secrets to glint in the light,

But perfect’s the blush and perfume of the rose.

 

 

385px-E._Degas-1

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

38 thoughts on “In the eye of the beholder”

  1. we look far for wonder and beauty and fail to see the beauty in our ordinary, beautiful soft flowing words but with such intensity simmering below the surface, your writing style itself an irony – lovely Jane as always!

  2. I LOVE your cascade poems Jane you are the Mistress of them!
    These lines! Hounds quench the flame of red fox in their jaws,

    Guns tear gentle doves from the blue of the sky,

    Such beauty we hear in blackbird’s first song.

  3. How odd that we see beauty in the wonders of nature, but kill (without remorse) living things we regard as predators or vermin. Beauty is indeed in the eye of the beholder.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

  4. Yes, to paraphrase Joni Mitchell, you don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone. Why waste money on flying to Mars when we have all the treasures of this planet to save. I prefer the flight of a swan to the flight of a rocket.

      1. I’ll pop it out later …. I know have a number of friends it will really appeal to – little my little we spread your words

  5. You nailed the ironic conundrum of life as we all find it after we lose our innocence.
    How I wish it wasn’t so! We are human beings with lots of faults and shortcomings…and we are the first to see these and write about ourselves 😉

    1. I’m afraid you’re right. And what’s more, I’m afraid we’ve reached the point where we can’t say, it doesn’t affect me, I won’t be around when the shit hits the fan—I can smell it already.

Leave a Reply

