The sky was falling

Today we celebrate a birthday.

Photo©Omnibus

1024px-CityHallFeb11

The sky was falling thick and fast,

Midnight past and Easter Day,

Snow drifted down, life on the cusp.

 

Dark snow dogged slow and pain-filled steps,

We trudged towards the beacon light,

The sky was falling thick and fast.

 

Long night rolled by in waves of pain,

Did I fear the end or hope in joy,

Midnight past and Easter Day?

 

Silent you came, a golden ray,

As perfect a child as has ever been,

Snow drifted down, life on the cusp.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

24 thoughts on “The sky was falling”

    1. Thanks Merril, I’ll pass on the best wishes 🙂 Having been told all sort of horror stories in the last six weeks of the pregnancy, it was such a relief for him to be born, not only normal, but big and beautiful too!

      1. It was the false alarms of the echographists, the radiologists, the geneticians. They all agreed that there was a bog problem (at 7 and a half months!) and at the very best the baby would be tiny, a dwarf. I don’t know what was wrong with their machinery, but he was a BIG baby and extremely beautiful 🙂

      2. A tiny first baby is surely what nature intended 🙂 I longed to have a tiny baby (never got one). Because they said Hugh was going to be abnormally small I didn’t even ask for an epidural. How I regretted it!

      3. Hahaha. My first came about two weeks early, and my second came about two weeks late, so that’s probably why there was a difference in size. But my younger daughter was probably average weight, I guess. No epidural with either, but I certainly had to push harder with the second. Long labors with both. But the reward is a baby. 🙂

      4. Funny how every birth is different. I’d still like to know how it feels to have a really small baby. My smallest was seven and a half pounds and that was an easy birth. The youngest was two weeks early and 7 and three quarter pounds. I’m glad she didn’t go to term!

      5. So my “big” one was about the size of your smallest. 🙂 My first one was only 5 1/2 pounds. My mom said that was my birth weight, too. But I felt huge with both of them!

  1. Oh my, you got your wish and had small babies. My first two were three weeks early and checked in at 7#15 and 8#. My third was a week late and tipped the scale at 10# and was breech. All from a small mommy.

    1. I wouldn’t say ‘small’ exactly! The first was just under 9 pounds , the third 81/2lb and the fourth 81/4lb. I am 5’2″ and weigh 99 pounds. A 10lb baby, I just can’t imagine… Brava Michelle!

      1. No those are not small. I am 5’4″ and at the time weighed 104. I still don’t know where that last one came from! Surely not my belly.

Leave a Reply

