Asimah

This 52 word story is for Sacha Black’s writespiration prompt, to write about ‘the girl that wore the black hood’. It came out as a poem. I found the illustration after I had written the words.

Photo©Nóra Bartóki-Gönczy

Asimah

She drapes her head in black,

so no one sees her eyes,

there is no going back,

seawater never dries.

 

She left him in the waves,

eyelids and lips turned blue,

no prayer ever saves,

no pious words are true.

 

She sees no hope no light,

just one

long,

bitter,

endless

night.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

15 thoughts on “Asimah”

  1. Wow that is beautiful. I am sorry it’s taken me so long to reply. I’ve been on a blogging hiatus, I just burnt out. Trying to catch up now.I see you got to number one too! MEGA SUPER HUGE congratulations so pleased for you ❤

      1. What category did you reach number one in? I’m so happy for you it’s such good news – clearly bookbub does work!

        Yeah the backseat was hugely needed I’m starting to feel refreshed but it’s definitely given me some perspective. I won’t be returning to blogging the way I was. I am determined to finish Keepers and write two more before the year is out

      2. In US it was No1 in YA time travel and Aus in YA action and adventure—in front of Harry Potter!
        You’re going to write another two books this year?? How the hell do you do it?

Leave a Reply

