The colour of your eyes

alone

 

I see you in the glitter

of bright sunlight on a new leaf,

and I hear the way you laugh

in the wind among the reeds.

I hear you call my name,

when the room is still and empty,

and the wind beneath the door

whispers gone, gone, gone.

The colour of your eyes

is the sea on cloudy mornings,

and the way you walk, a shadow,

on a bustling crowded street.

Your hair, the brisk wind tangles,

I see above the crowd,

and I hear you call my name,

though only strangers gather round.

In the whistle of an engine

and the squeal of racing tyres,

when the sunlight dances brightly

in the puddles after showers,

I can almost think you’re with me

though my hand finds empty air.

In the silence of the darkness,

in the cold space here beside me,

in the glitter of the starlight,

and the patter of the raindrops,

I know you’ll never be back

to remind me of the sunlight,

as it glitters on a new leaf,

the colour of your eyes.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

10 thoughts on “The colour of your eyes”

Leave a Reply

