This path leads between waking and sleeping

The NaPoWriMo prompt today is the repeated line. Since there’s nothing I love more than a repeated line, here is a villanelle.

Coming_Twilight,_by_George_Ames_Aldrich

This path leads between waking and sleeping,

Sunshine and darkness, red dawn to twilight,

Meandering gaily, past willows weeping.

 

Beyond the hills, the ocean rolls sweeping

The strand clear of footprints left by the night,

This path leads between waking and sleeping.

 

The wind in the cherries white blossom is reaping,

Strewing the path that the sun gilds so bright,

Meandering gaily, past willows weeping.

 

Never a sound from the lark chicks, no peeping,

Listening in their grass nest for fox tread light,

This path leads between waking and sleeping.

 

The river flows silver with salmon fish leaping,

Whispering magic, our dream eyes closed tight,

Meandering gaily, past willows weeping.

 

You give me your hand, your heart in my keeping,

With swans’ wings we dream, although in our flight,

We follow the path that, from waking to sleeping,

Meanders with laughter, past willows weeping.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

16 thoughts on “This path leads between waking and sleeping”

  1. As I once told you, I am no fan of obvious rhyme, but when it’s done really, really well then who could not adore it? This is true here, you have the ‘sound’ in the harpsichord of your writing and your last four lines are EXQUISITE. I think you write the most beautiful images of the countryside of anyone on WP I always feel I am standing right there as you weave your words. Incredibly romantic just by your observations of what is going on around us, as if you drew everything into a molecule and then let it out again.

    1. That’s a beautiful compliment, Candice πŸ™‚ The whole point of the villanelle is the rhyme, so that let’s it off the hook. Otherwise, I agree with you, rhyme can = doggerel and just sound cutesy.

  2. Jane you paint a serene calm portrait…
    Today I had tried something like Poe’s Bells…if you get a chance read my entry–Whisper…hope you will like it…

  3. I really like the idea of the path between waking and sleeping. (Well, of course I would.) πŸ™‚
    Well done with the villanelle. I can’t believe how you just pop them out!

Leave a Reply

