Blossoming

A haibun for Colleen Chesebro’s Tanka Tuesday on the theme of Hard & Soft.

972px-Vincent_van_Gogh_-_Almond_blossom_-_Google_Art_Project

After weeks of cold, sun-teased buds burst in a fountain of white and pink froth, fluttering and bowing in defiance of the wild winds and steely shafts of rain.

 

Bud-tight blossoming,

at one with the sun, spring-bright

cascades of beauty.

 

Rain drums and pounds petals into earth, iron-hard after weeks of cold, turning the sarcophagus of winter into the softly luxurious, green-sprouting mud of spring.

 

Cold earth cedes, coaxed

by delving, trickling runnels,

shoots a rack of green spears.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

33 thoughts on “Blossoming”

  1. Beautiful! This is just what’s happening here. It was cold and rainy last week, but yesterday was a perfect spring day, and today it will be almost summer-like.

    I haven’t even looked at Colleen’s post yet–and haven’t caught up with yesterday’s posts either. πŸ™‚

      1. Most days I’m at work on my computer in the kitchen (except for going to the gym). But yesterday, we took my mom out and met my sister–some issues we had to discuss. We ate outside though, and it was lovely. And then daughter stopped by–and it’s Passover, though our big family dinner will be later in the week because that’s how we do things. πŸ™‚

      2. Often I wish my family was more accessible. The children don’t know their cousins or their aunts and uncles. We probably won’t have an Easter meal this year. Half the children are vegan and won’t eat anything I cook any more (or chocolate) and it doesn’t have any meaning as a celebration if you’re not religious.

      3. Food isn’t fun any more when we’re all together. I either have a couple of them taking over and producing stuff out of jars and packages that tastes terrible, or I have half the family refusing to eat anything. I’ll just have to learn to cook vegan then everybody will be happy. I suppose.

      1. Since I’ve started using this form, i’ve found that more and more poems don’t have to be chopped into lines, and I can leave them as they are, in a piece of prose and round it off with a poetic coda.

      2. Free form poetry is hard to make credible. It easily becomes a shapeless rant. Stringing images in a long list doesn’t make a poem. A few rules are no bad thing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

