Friday Fictioneers microfiction: Roman holiday

This is for Rochelle’s photo prompt challenge. It was rather longer than requested so I’ve cut it back to 100 (105 in truth) words.

PHOTO PROMPT © Dale Rogerson

dale-rogerson-pizza

Feet were sore from walking historic cobbles. Necks ached from staring up at historic ceilings. Rome in August was too hot and there was no air conditioning in the hotel. At least it was cheap and nobody minded if they ate in their room.

She peered down into the early morning street through the green slats of the blind. It was already hot, but mercifully quiet. She turned. The room looked squalid in the dim light with the remains of last night’s meal on the table. She wondered how long it would be before the holiday became a memory, as unappetising as a congealed pizza.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

66 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers microfiction: Roman holiday”

      1. That’s amazing! You must know how to travel safely. La Presse once did a long article on all the ways folks get robbed there. Roman thieves are no slouches.

        Our good friends, seasoned travelers, stopped off for a few days in Rome at the beginning of a four-week trip to Africa. The first evening Sally had her wallet stolen from her purse in their locked hotel room. So they rented a car and Rob locked their luggage in the trunk. They stopped at a police station to report the stolen wallet and when they got back to the car, their luggage had been stolen.

        Since then just about everyone I meet, if you mention Rome, has a story to tell about themselves, a friend or relative getting robbed there.
        (I hope you’re not getting this comment twice; I’m experiencing some glitches trying to post it.)

      2. They used to say those things about Naples. I hate to have to say it, but tourists get robbed everywhere, especially American tourists. Italy has always had a bad reputation for thieving because it’s a relatively poor country and has a large population of very poor immigrants. The kind of thieves who steal wallets and luggage are opportunists, just watching for the right occasion to relieve people of some of their ‘wealth’. They see Americans as wealthy so they pick on them. If you look poor, they’re less likely to bother with you. Not guaranteed though 🙂

  1. In July of 1985, my wife and I joined a group to tour a number of European countries including Italy. In a small town, one of the guys tried to order a pepperoni pizza and instead got a pizza with bell peppers on it. It’s difficult to order pizza in Italy.

      1. If things are going to get rocky, going on holiday is a sure fire way of making it happen. I think the converse is also true, though. There’s not much more wonderful than going to a foreign place with the love of your life and finding that you both get the same things out of the experience.

  2. Well, it was a Tuscan holiday 😉 The day spent with a friend I ran into and because we had a late lunch, I bought the pizza for a late dinner as I was in the middle of nowhere Montepulciano!
    The electricity had gone out…and I had to eat the pizza cold!
    That said…I was in no way lonely! 🙂

  3. I felt all those aches and pains as I read your post. Sometimes “enjoying the sites” can wear one out. Then to go “home” to a hot, hot room and cheesy pizza? Welcome to vacation!

  4. Rome is a fascinating place to visit, but I definitely wouldn’t want to stay there in August, in a hotel without air-conditioning! Loved the descriptions in your story.

      1. You’re welcome! I’m generally not a fan of air-conditioning, but I just can’t sleep when it’s​ too warm in the hotel room. 😊

Leave a Reply

