Swift and smooth the river runs

The NaPoWriMo suggestion today is alliteration.

 

buttercups.jpg

Swift and smooth the river runs,

Buttercup-blazoned banks beside,

A golden hoard about my feet,

But all my wealth left with the tide.

 

I dip my hand into the stream,

In silk-smooth water solace seek,

A host of silver spangles catch,

But none tomorrow makes less bleak.

 

Swift and smooth the seasons run,

Spring then summer spin the years,

Blackbird’s song spills through the shade,

But not a note can stop my tears.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

16 thoughts on “Swift and smooth the river runs”

  1. Pingback: Day Thirteen
  2. Love the combination of alliteration and rhyme which feels very natural. I sometimes find alliterative poems sounding forced, but this is quite the opposite. Thank you.

    1. Thanks Linda. I feel exactly the same way about alliteration. Anyone can open the dictionary and string together lots of words beginning with the same letter. Doesn’t make it poetry 🙂

Leave a Reply

