Tears and Tides

Today’s haul of twitter poems from a handful of twitter prompts.

Photo©Mike Pennington

Ripples_in_the_sand_-_geograph.org.uk_-_717153

Though you comb the sands forever,

you will never find

a single tear of mine

among the gentle waves.

 

So many tears shed

in the night, at your leaving.

At sunrise, only crumpled sheets remain,

like sand ripples

carved by the ebb tide.

 

Footprints to the sea,

a couple enlaced,

run across the wet sand

into tomorrow,

fast as the horses

of the morning tide.

 

Round we come, full circle

to this place we once loved,

but our lovers’ footprints dance,

pale ghosts, beneath the indifferent waves.

 

 

Dim the stars in the sky

and leap into the dark.

Take my hand

and I will show you wings.

Dive with me

and we will gather treasure

by the light of black pearls.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

3 thoughts on “Tears and Tides”

    1. Thank you! It’s funny how it works out. Sometimes none of the twitter prompts inspire me, sometimes a whole raft of them do, but always with a common thread. Maybe I put it there. I can’t tell.

Leave a Reply

