Some things just are

The NaPoWriMo prompt is to write a creation story. Since I’m in haibun mood, here’s another one.

800px-NASA_Unveils_Celestial_Fireworks_as_Official_Hubble_25th_Anniversary_Image

We work backwards from now, and we ask how, when? Precise questions that produce precise answers. But if we go back to that moment billions of years ago in the silence and cold of nothingness, and we ask, why, what answer do we get? Some say it was the start of the divine plan, a slow-growing plan that filled space with brilliance, and we, in the arc of our tiny spark of light, an insignificant star in a small, run-of-the-mill galaxy on the edges of the wonderland of the universe, wound through swampy fantasies and frozen stagnation before settling into our unsettling and unsettled ordered chaos.

Others ask, but what was before the beginning, what was the nothingness and why was it? If there was no time before the blue touch paper burst into cosmic sparkles and jubilant noise, then nothingness was infinite and eternal. Silence and cold. Was the divine plan in cogitation, or was the divine planner in embryo, to be born (from whom?) out of a need to explode the nothingness and paint a canvas for it to explore?

Perhaps there is no answer to the why question. Perhaps some things just happen, like catching a virus or not, growing up wild or conformist, having seventy-three rosettes or sixty-seven (if you’re a jaguar). Some things have no why or how, they just are. Like love.

 

Ask not the blackbird

why she feeds a hungry nestβ€”

it’s what mothers do.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

30 thoughts on “Some things just are”

    1. I’m glad you do πŸ™‚ The question about what was before the Big Bang is one my youngest asked. The answer is, apparently, nothing. Not even time. I can’t get my head round that at all. It’s like the idea of eternity in reverse.

      1. I wish we had more to put on ours. I’ve heard about US tax forms being horribly complicated, and if you make a mistake they put you in jail without even letting you pass Go first.

      1. Only in looking back do you know if it was wisdom or not. For now, it’s just a matter of making the right decisions. Writing a haibun and contemplating the larger world is a good decision. πŸ™‚

      2. That sounds like very wise advice πŸ™‚ There’s so little we ‘know’. So much is just ‘belief’ and ‘hope’. Maybe we don’t need so many certitudes.

      3. No guarantees, just consequences. πŸ™‚ If you make the best decision you can, then you don’t have to spend energy on regret. My cousin said something like this: I wouldn’t erase anything I’ve done, our mistakes make us who we are. And you are pretty awesome!

      4. All human beings are awesome, I think. Too many don’t put their awesomeness to good use though πŸ™‚ I see what your cousin means. If you can look back on something and realise it was the wrong thing to do or say, you’ve become a better person than you were when you did/said it.

    1. I don’t know whether I’m doing it right, so it’s a case of the blind leading the blind πŸ™‚ It’s a good form to work out thoughts in though, and to use expansive prose.

  1. Why creators create and stars shine and planets spin…yes, I like the poetry of Genesis 1 myself but the mystery is profound any way you consider it.

  2. I’ve thought a lot about this for a long time – it’s the reason for my blog, actually – but you’ve put the problem far more beautifully than I could ever have.

Leave a Reply

