Free books from best-selling author

As you probably all know, since I’ve been shouting about it enough, Finch Books ha been running a promotion on The Pathfinders series. It’s five days since the BookBub feature, which sent the first volume, Abomination, to number one in the US and Australia in Teen Science Fiction and Teen Time Travel and Adventure categories, where Hunger Games and Harry Potter hang out. The glory lasted two whole days before the big boys and girls took the top place back again, but it was a big wonderful experience.

3 Books 02-1

It has been my theory (not original) that you absolutely have to pay for advertising if you want to sell your book. No matter how good it is, if it isn’t visible, nobody except family and friends will buy it. One of the democratising effects of self-publishing has been to give readers a stupifyingly huge choice of books, available in one click, as they say. How do you wade through 30 million plus books? Short answer—you don’t. You skip through the tiny sample Amazon gives you easy access to.

The whole of The Pathfinders series has been available since last September. The first volume, despite a clutch of excellent reviews, attractive cover and a proper publisher behind it, was lingering in the doldrums, and the sequels hadn’t taken off at all. Finch Books was going through a very rocky and doubtful start, which put marketing on hold. It looks as though the teething problems are over and we’re back with a vengeance.

Advertising put Abomination up there on the front page, and with a bit of luck it will hang about a while among the first pages where it is likely to be noticed by a casual browser. The sequels have started selling too, which is wonderful. Advertising is essential, but reviews are a must too, which brings me to the point of this post. If you have read Abomination and enjoyed it, I’m offering review copies of the second and third volumes. Please get in touch through the contact form with your email address and I’ll send you one (epub or pdf).

Meanwhile, the promotion continues if you’re keen to get into the series.

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Amazon Aus

Amazon Ca

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

13 thoughts on “Free books from best-selling author”

  1. Hi! I was just wondering how much you paid for this? I’ve been debating whether or not to use bookbub as aj advertising platform and this post really makes it seem promising. 🙂

    1. I didn’t pay anything, Nicholas, it was the publisher. They maybe get special rates, I don’t know, but it depends on the genre and the cost of the book you’re promoting. I looked into it for my self-published books and decided it was far too expensive. You have to sign up to find out exactly how much it’ll cost you, but I based my decision on this
      https://www.bookbub.com/partners/pricing
      I think they have stipulations about how many reviews the book has too, and whether it looks presentable.

      1. Hmm.. I’ve been going back and forth about using it since it costs so much, and I don’t have the money right now. But I think I will try it… though most likely once my second book is up for sale, so I can get more sales from that one, while the first is out for free. 🙂

      2. I can’t see how you’d make anything if you only had one free book. If you do try it, do let us all know how it goes. I’ll see if I can get some sales figures from my publisher. If I do, I’ll post them.

      3. Yup, that’s actually what I was thinking, too. I wouldn’t really make anything seeing as how I only have one book out right now. It’s best to wait after all. Better, too, as I don’t have the cash for that right now… And if you could post it, then that would be a great help! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

