Limericks

Frank at dverse is daring us to write a Limerick. Limericks are hard. They are supposed to be amusing and that alone is hard. So I’m opting for the facetious and the silly.

 

A woman named Le Pen Marine

has decided she wants to be queen.

With her jackboots and lies,

she is all I despise,

and her propos are all quite obscene.

 

There was a young man from Glasgow,

whose transit was painfully slow,

he’d sit in that place

and go red in the face

but still he’d not manage to go.

 

I once had a small cat named Nelly

who had an incredible belly.

Round as a ball,

she would bounce down the hall

and had her own show on the telly.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

67 thoughts on “Limericks”

  1. These are amusing! I heard about Le Pen in France, but I know little about her, however, I am sure European readers will relate and that is what is important with political satire. I have had days when I can relate to that man from Glasgow and if I had a bouncing cat, well, I’d make sure that cat was on YouTube.

      1. I don’t remember Benny the Ball nor Top Cat. When I was 14 or so, I stopped watching TV and many things people know passed me by. I heard from an internet search that Le Pen will not likely get elected, but they said that about Trump. Madeleine Begun Kane’s blog has more US political humor. I usually know who these people are. They are hard for even me to miss.

      2. Top Cat must have been around when you were too young for TV then. It was in the 60s that we saw it so in the US you’d have had it even earlier. I’m not ruling Le Pen out. People are stupid and blind, and anything ‘s possible.

  2. There once was an old lecher named Shawn
    Who wrote dirty limericks as a come-on
    Prim ladies would blush
    And call him a lush
    But younger lads proclaimed him a paragon

  3. I came to your site to smile,
    and giggle a while;
    you rocked my belly
    as it undulated like jelly;
    & in my pants grew a pile.

  4. I love limericks! Sorry my post was set to not receive comments, but I’ve fixed it. I’ll be around to read the last couple prompts abbot later! Thanks for hosting, Frank.

    1. Our Trixie has a decided waddle but I think bouncing would be beneath her dignity. I’m glad you liked themβ€”some political figures just set themselves up to be shot down.

  5. The truth about Quentin McQuickers
    Is he keeps a kazoo in his knickers.
    Which explains how we heard
    Him play β€˜Grease is the Word’
    While sipping his tea at the vicar’s.

Leave a Reply

