Purple shadows and starlight

Saturday is time to consult the oracle day. As usual, she had very particular ideas, gave me an enigmatic first poem, blew away the second one before it was finished and wouldn’t let me finish the third. Then she banged out the fourth and fifth with hardly any prompting.

 

There were purple shadows Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 15.07.16

in the light, as I recall,

and the sweet smell

of crushed roses.

The red sun was but a dream,

blood moon rusted

into a misty sea.

 

 

Mountains of blossom fall,

a gentle frost,Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 16.05.36

cloud bloom,

a sweet blanket,

soft and pure as moonlight

on a winter’s night.

 

 

On wings we soarScreen Shot 2017-04-29 at 16.19.19

in a pink-bloomed sky,

two spirits, you and Iβ€”

we could be heroes

of starlight and music,

wishing for morning.

 

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

15 thoughts on “Purple shadows and starlight”

    1. I know what you mean. I hope the following messages explain it. It was funny that she wouldn’t let me have the other two. They were dark and menacing. As you say, the oracle knows best πŸ™‚

      1. I’ve only done it once or twice. I took the poem she gave me and then another, and then I kind of rewrote and embellished them. I hope she doesn’t mind.

      2. She probably won’t. I feel as though I need everything on my side at the moment, so if there’s the least doubt she might get upset I’d rather not risk it.

      1. Perhaps. Although someone told me last week that I’m not at all romantic, and I think they are probably right. But I enjoy it in others.

      2. There’s emotive and there’s sentimental. I’d say you’re pretty emotive otherwise you wouldn’t be able to do what you do. Sentimental is gush and slush. Probably not either of us πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

