Growing

Bittersweet thoughts of how gaining an adult is losing a child.

Cassatt_Mary_Children_on_the_Beach_1884

Childish laughter echoes in the night,

It fills the morning with its music bright,

Paints a thousand hues in crystal light.

 

For a time we two walked hand in hand,

Two sets of prints in the mirror sand,

Tides swept them smooth, empty now the strand.

 

Memories cascade in golden streams,

Dance like dust motes in the sun’s bright beams,

Happiness is never what it seems.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

15 thoughts on “Growing”

      1. ah! got it. This hits home for me. That loss of innocence is one thing, but when they’re gone, yes that’s the hard part. My eldest is in college, and I’ve got two behind her so I’m at this cusp. I’m just really glad that I was so involved with raising them 🙂

      2. I have two left at home, but only one is really settled. Another two are sort of floating between home and letting go. They want to be independent, but I still see the first baby steps and remember all the things that frightened them when they were little. Can’t help them there anymore though;

      1. Yes. I don’t feel it too much with my daughters, but they never really had “mainstream” tastes. But kids younger than them–like my great-niece and nephews are definitely of another culture. 🙂

Leave a Reply

