Starless times

This is a cascade poem for the Secret Keeper’s writing prompt. The words to include are

BRAVE | RUSH | RAVE | WALK | INNER

Soleil_levant_Claude_Monet

Starless times, I walk the paths of darkness,

All through the inner reaches of the night,

The sound of rushing waters fills my ears.

 

No bright day breaks to chase the ghosts away,

Bleak is the morning that will never dawn,

Starless times, I walk the paths of darkness.

 

Soft silence falls to fill the starlit space,

And gently silver moonbeams brush my face,

All through the inner reaches of the night.

 

You take my hand; we watch the sun return,

To brave the shadow-madness, all is bright,

The sound of rushing waters fills my ears.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

9 thoughts on “Starless times”

  1. The starless times sound scary, but to have someone there to hold your hand makes it better, or at least hopeful. Beautiful cascade–and the illustration, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Loved it, Jane. Walking the paths of darkness, one always needs a loving hand to brave the shadow-madness. Nicely written! โค

Leave a Reply

