Blue horses by the sea

497px-Franz_Marc_028

 

I went down to the sea today,

To ease the weight upon my heart,

And plucked a yellow flower there,

Gorse blossom, sweet as any rose,

Sweet as the rose, though lovers part.

 

I went down to the sea today

And cast red berries on the waves,

A silver fish leapt in the sun

And took them down where no tree grows,

Where no tree grows and nothing saves.

 

I went down to the sea today,

And though the strand was silver bright,

I saw no horses gallop there,

Free as the birds and blue as dreams,

For blue horse dreams fade with the night.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

13 thoughts on “Blue horses by the sea”

  1. The blue ponies! I’m unreasonably excited to see them. 🙂
    This poem is so sad and wistful, but I like the touch of surrealism (and all the colors). Perfect!

Leave a Reply

