Wind gusts

1024px-thistledown_of_field_thistle_cirsium_arvense

Wind gusts,

thistledown flies,

pungent earth, river-washed,

spreads among the dapples.

Wind gusts,

reeds chatter,

leaves whisper,

raising dog hackles, rolling anxious eyes.

Wind gusts,

whispers in dog ears

words I cannot hear,

threading through the thistledown drifts

and the leaf rustle.

On the wall,

blackbird listens, poised,

called by the dappled earth

where the waves lap.

Wind gusts,

I listen,

in vain.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

23 thoughts on “Wind gusts”

    1. It hits me strongly too, that while daft animals like Finbar can interpret sounds in the wind, hear things speaking to them, no matter how hard we try, we’re not part of the conversation.

  1. Wind, for me, is chaotic, and so distracting. I’ve read many notions of whispers, and change, in the wind, but I sense more metaphysical connections through a perfect stillness, a calm dark night, or a gentle rain. 🙂

    1. I agree, stillness is easier to empathise with. The wind is unsettling, and it uses objects to make noises, as if it is carrying a message. Silence is far more soothing.

      1. ha ha ha! Am I that quick witted? I think not! Do let me know what you think of both books can’t wait to know your thoughts it’s okay if you hate them too that’s part of the fun really isn’t it? Just glad they arrived okay as you know the post here is haphazzard at best, I may send you more as I love to share good books like you do xo BIG HUGS

      2. They got past the sticky fingers of the French postal service and that is quite an exploit! I will let you know what I think, and thanks again for sending them. Big Hugs back at you xxx

      3. ha ha ha! I put ‘gift’ as I think if you put anything else they open it and keep it! The Canadian postal system was the WORST I would get about fifty percent of things if that! And they taxed EVERYTHING! Oh you are very welcome. I think you are a wonderful person to know so it’s my delight.

      4. White jeans in Russia are probably worth their weight in gold so I’m not totally surprised. But no, I don’t trust them not to rummage to see if there’s anything they fancy in the package.

Leave a Reply

