Evening stars and falling petals

Twitter poems from a fruitful series of prompts.

Brooklyn_Museum_-_Moonlight_and_Frost_-_Alexander_Helwig_Wyant_-_overall

It is lonely in the depths,

the murk that swirls too thick

to see the many others there,

and the glimmer at the surface,

beckoning.

 

Is there really light

at the end of this dark road,

or is it wishful thinking—

like seeing eagles

where there are only crows?

 

Evening folds its wings

with the hushed tones of falling roses.

We sink into night

beneath the silent glitter of the stars.

 

Is it fate,

whispered in the breeze,

that brings me here,

to hold out my hands

and catch the petals as they fall?

 

Caught in the perfume

of desire’s dark wings,

pulled by the tide into unsounded depths

I reach out my hand to you.

 

Hand in the water

catch the ripples

paint my hair with seafoam.

Sing the songs of merfolk

before the morning comes.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

16 thoughts on “Evening stars and falling petals”

Leave a Reply

