Moonlight and rock-murmur

The oracle disappeared an almost finished poem. I take it it was deliberate.

 

Time wasScreen Shot 2017-05-20 at 10.36.43

when after a spring storm,

stillness sang,

and the smooth sea

whispered water music.

No sky shot with blood

heaved its rain-rusted head.

 

 

Bitter blue is the sky,Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 12.13.24

black those sweet juices,

purples the light

that plays on the water

and sings love to sleep

in a bed of crushed petals.

 

 

Beneath the moonlight,Screen Shot 2017-05-20 at 12.26.01

peace falls.

Mountain roots

rock-murmur

a secret songβ€”

we walk in the leaf-rustle

of the night.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

10 thoughts on “Moonlight and rock-murmur”

    1. The magnets give some lovely lines, even though there are not very many words to choose from all told. They’re nudged by something, and it’s involuntary. I’m sure of it.

      1. Amazing. I used to do a lot of work with people talking to me, and I’d shape that into poems, and they just fell into place. I love how it happens here!

      2. It’s always the same small set of words yet each time, the poems are different, the tone, the message. I might not believe in God, but I’m starting to believe in the oracle πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

