Night and the river

This week I could really do with a little balm, sweet soothing music etc. It’s been tough and tiring. I looked to the oracle, but she’s not one to spout to order. Unfortunately. I tried each word set, and ended up with a mixed bag.

 

Storm chants madlyScreen Shot 2017-05-27 at 14.42.26

with a bitter death cry,

rain water runs away

into the lake,

no sun in the sky

pours luscious light

and purple shadows

about these whispered dreams.

 

 

I listen to your lies,Screen Shot 2017-05-27 at 14.56.47

you kiss with marble lips,

we never find peace.

Like ghosts,

we embrace in the dark,

fever hot,

red as my secrets.

 

 

We two belong togetherScreen Shot 2017-05-27 at 15.23.12

in the dream of the stars.

Listen, as the world grows old,

our time plays out.

Fulfill your wish,

take me with you

along the river of night.

 

 

Always beautiful,Screen Shot 2017-05-27 at 15.34.52

bird,

wild soul of the wind,

follows the sun

dawn to dusk,

spring to winter frost;

like the river,

wild.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

6 thoughts on “Night and the river”

Leave a Reply

