Microfiction: Remains

This macabre photo is the prompt for the Friday Fictioneers this week. Thanks Rochelle! Word count 100.

There’s a second part here.

PHOTO PROMPT © Karuna

charred-toys

The house had been empty for years. We bought it through the lawyer who was disposing of the previous owners’ assets. They had gone, disappeared, leaving everything behind. There was a sadness about the house that I found attractive at first, and waited eagerly for spring when we could start attacking the overgrown garden.

Spring was late and cold. Frost clung to the north side of the house and the ground stayed hard and unyielding. It was there, much later in the year, after rain had softened the earth enough to turn it over, that we dug up the grave.

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

56 thoughts on “Microfiction: Remains”

      1. At one time, mom and I “sqatted” in an old doctors office (1920’s era), and we dug up lots of human bones from amputations and such. Never a full body, thank all that is.

      2. It was almost a century ago, now. I guess the laws were different then. That said, that little plot of soil grew the best-ever roses.

      3. Just reading about the dog and cat bones, gave me chivers down my spine. We’ve buried two of our beloved dogs in our backyard, and I’d be very disturbed if I dug them up.
        That said, they were buried deep and our gardening efforts are very superficial and usually unsuccessful.
        xx Rowena

      4. Don’t give in. Two pugs is enough for anyone, I’d have thought 🙂 I’d like another dog, but I don’t think I could manage another one like the first.

  1. I knew this week’s pic would bring horrors and so it has, but this was so well written, so understated, and that killer last line … I agree – more please

  2. It is so interesting to see the different directions the photo took writers. These toys were dug up near a house foundation that has been covered by blackberry vines for at least 30 years and probably more. The house may have burned in the 50’s. The toys were probably thrown down from a lot up the hill around 40 years ago.

  3. This prompt has drawn out some pretty dark visions, so many have a really credible, realistic feel to them too…like yours, Jane. I think we might need a photo of Grandma’s rose bush next week, although knowing some of our “colleagues”, there’ll still be a high body count.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

    1. I think I agree with you there, Rowena 🙂 Something more restful would make a pleasant change, but as you point out, you can bury bodies beneath rose bushes just as easily as anywhere else 🙂

Leave a Reply

