A place for us

I wrote this villanelle a while ago, but I think it fits the Real Toads prompt to write a poem that makes the reader believe in something that isn’t real.

1024px-Rippl_Sour_Cherry_Tree_in_Blossom_1909

There is a place for us, somewhere

Beyond the veil of misty blue,

Where cherry blossom fills the air.

 

I see it in my dreams, so fair,

Of every subtle earthly hue,

There is a place for us somewhere.

 

Should we let go and should we dare

Follow our hearts and start anew,

Where cherry blossom fills the air?

 

You let go my hand; I cannot bear

That you forget what we both knewโ€”

There is a place for us somewhere.

 

You walk into midsummerโ€™s glare,

Toss back my heart, my dreams bestrew

Where cherry blossom fills the air.

 

I hide my tears from your cold stare

And dream of what used to be trueโ€”

There was a place for us somewhere

Where cherry blossom fills the air.

 

Published by

Jane Dougherty

I used to do lots of things I didn't much enjoy. Now I am officially a writer. It's what I always wanted to be.

18 thoughts on “A place for us”

  1. Beautifully written. It’s a feeling that I know all too well. Only the way you describe it is lovely. My experience of being dumped had a lot more snot and suicide ideation.

  2. We’ve all had the snot and suicide poems (best never to see the light of day). Love this, Jane. Much more contained than a rant. In fact, I think that’s what the villanelle does. It lends a rigidity and form to emotion that might otherwise get away from us.

    1. Thanks Sarah ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, I think you’re right about the form containing the emotion, focusing it. The repetition is also a wonderful way of hammering a point home ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. “I hide my tears from your cold stare”, and his having forgotten that place of love….so poignant. We have all been there. He was the one who really lost out.

Leave a Reply

